Transnational cooperation – Interreg B

Karte der förderfähigen Gebiete Mitteleuropas

The European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) supports cross-border cooperation and is funded from out of the European Fund for Regional Development (EFRD). The ETC funds projects / measures of directly transnational cooperation (Interreg A), projects of transnational cooperation (Interreg B) and, in the context of Interreg Europe, projects of interregional cooperation (previously Interreg C) as well as the exchange of experience in projects or on platforms.
In Brandenburg, the Ministry for Europe is responsible for transnational cooperation and Interreg Europe; in Berlin, the Senate Department for Economics is responsible for Interreg Europe. The Joint Spatial Planning Department Berlin-Brandenburg is responsible for transnational cooperation.
Transnational cooperation takes place in 15 European cooperation regions. The capital city region cooperates with partners from the Baltic Sea region (BSR) and Central Europe (CE). Stakeholders from Berlin and Brandenburg can develop and carry our projects together with other European partners in the funding period 2014 to 2020. The project topics have to link to the priorities of the programmes Innovation, Natural Resources (as well as Cultural Resources in the CE programme), Sustainable Traffic and CO2 Reduction. The aim is to develop and implement strategies and action plans for political decision-makers and users during the project (usually two to three years). Other objectives include the development, testing and implementation of instruments, the implementation of pilot events including investment as well as the carrying out of trainings for project-oriented competence development.

Karte der förderfähigen Gebiete des Ostseeraums 2014-2020

Project partners may hail from the Baltic region, that is, Poland, the Baltic and Scandinavian countries as well as from Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Berlin and Brandenburg. Within the Central Europe programme, partners from Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria, Italy (North), Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony, Thuringia, Saxony-Anhalt, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Berlin and Brandenburg can jointly tackle challenges in the aforementioned fields in themed projects. Both programmes are open to associations, chambers, universities, local authorities, other public bodies and private enterprises.
The programme offices regularly publish calls for project applications. The applications are approved in a two-stage procedure. Opportunities of advance personal advice on project ideas or preliminary applications between the two stages of the application procedure should be used by contacting the National Contact Points (e.g. within the CE programme) and by way of call-specific information events.
Several conditions must be taken into consideration when developing a project. For instance, at least three project partners from three different countries are required, two of which should be located within the cooperation region. Projects run between 2 and 3 years. The project budget averages between 2 and 3 million euro with a maximum EU funding percentage of 85%.
Moreover, the federal government funds projects of particular national interest that contribute to spatial development within its federal programme ‘Transnational cooperation’. The objective is to improve European competence, involve new stakeholders, develop long-term relationships, prepare for investment, strengthen the competitive capability of cities and regions and implement the EU strategy 2020 at a local level. To this end, the process of project preparation (search for partners, application etc.), co-funding and tie-in projects are funded. Regular calls for corresponding applications are likewise published.